To Apollon Lykeios

You circle me , so careful and yet  so hungry for the chase that will come.
Daylight blooms in Your eyes:
Glowing gold stares back to me, so relentless, so remote
Yet barely holding back a wildly searing heat.
Twilight shines on Your white fur and it is too much:
My Lord is  blinding, pure in His most starved ferocity
As He is in His compassionate kindness.
Nobility is in His light step, but His howl is all but a primal song,
A ruthless beauty in a softly mournful glove of sound.
Power is in His bones and Fire in His blood,
He cannot be restrained, if not by His own uncontainable will!
He will pursue and wear down,
He will hunt and devour,
Tear apart before  soothing the bleeding flesh.
Lykeios, I ache in Your distance as I burn in Your holy presence.
I can never truly escape you,
Nor I want to,
But how can I stop trying when every time I turn around,
you are too much for my soul to bear?

______________________________________________

Even if I think it’s safe saying I am no longer running from Apollon, I find that when I think of His animal attributes, I still consider the wolf as the embodiment of His harsher qualities. It’s not only about the ‘chase and catch’ pattern that is present in the myths of His loves tough. The Wolf is the very mirror of Apollon’ s balance  of willful strength and power, authority and sociality, basic instinct and intelligent calculation. In my mind, it’s not only Apollon as a predator- it’s Him as a conqueror and enforcer of the will of Zeus and it’s Him as leader of men.

—  Seastruck

Tags:

About Columbine

Bride of Apollon, accompanying her Beloved across the wave of existence.

Leave a Reply

