Suggestions for Aegletia

A few days ago, one of our Sisters asked how we would be observing the Aegletia. I’ll go ahead and put my answers here for everyone. Others, please feel free to answer in the comments, if you wish. These suggestions are only that– suggestions.  How you may celebrate will likely look very different from how I will celebrate, keeping in mind that I and several other Sisters of the Treasury have children to incorporate into the festivities.

~

Since I still have a lot of household things to do throughout the week of Aegletia, my observances will be in many brief but focused intervals each day. The first day, which is for our purification, I will be preparing khernips with a variety of herbs and sea salt. I will likely sprinkle the khernips throughout the house and over the outdoor altar. I will also put some of the khernips into a clear container and set it out on the outdoor altar with offerings and prayer to Apollon for purification. Later that evening, while I shower, I will pour that water over myself in the final purificatory act. Then I’ll seal it with intent by anointing myself with lavender essential oil. There are many, many ways of personal purification. These are but a few of mine.

On the second day, His arrival at our hearths, I will wait to let Him lead me in whatever kind of bonding experience He chooses. This is the most intimate of the festival days, when it is just you and Him together. I will try to just feel His presence and revel in His attention. I’ll probably try to get in a few rounds of prayer and maybe a shared meal.

Day three, I will honor Artemis, though I’m not exactly sure how that is going to look. I have never had much of a connection to Artemis. I’ve had some experiences of Her that were amazing, but I just don’t know how to reach out to Her. She’s definitely been on my peripheral, though. I was thinking of staging a “Hunt” for my daughter, kind of like an Easter egg hunt, but with animal figurines hidden all over the yard. There would be prizes depending on the ferocity of the animal and the number of animals accumulated. And of course, prayers to the wildlife spirits around us.

The fourth day is for Leto, and She will be given the most prominent space on the altar on this day. As a family, we will honor Her as the dark mother. with twilight offerings and gifts, at least one handmade. Though, before the evening focus on Leto, we will try to push our personal boundaries by doing something we’ve never done before, something which takes us outside of our comfort zones. For my family this will likely mean a trip to someplace we’ve never been, along with a brief essay of our impressions of the place, to give as offerings to Apollon. We may also come back with flowers for Leto.

The fifth day will be for the exploration of beauty in our world. I’m going to suggest a trip to the beach for my family since it may still be warm enough down south where I’m at, as I find few things more beautiful than sunlit water. This will also give me an opportunity to discuss water safety with the child again, which touches upon the ugliness of life when we contemplate the risk of drowning. I will also emphasize the not lying on the fifth day, and bring back some shells or sand dollars for Apollon.

On day six, we’ll probably stay home, listen to many different genres of music, maybe play “guess the classical composer”, make some more pretty decorations for Apollon’s altar, and tell and act out some of my daughter’s favorite myths involving Him.  Also, we may plant some bulbs that will sprout in the spring, to welcome Him for His return, as suggested by another Sister.

Day seven will be a much more structured day, ritually speaking. My daughter and I will pray at the altar, and I will give her another divination lesson with the alphabet oracle. I’ll have her meditate, then describe the imagery she receives either verbally to Apollon before the altar, or in written form. Later that evening, I will go into trance to receive messages for my Sisters, should our Lord have any to pass on, through me.

The eighth day is for winding down from the previous days’ festivities, as well as for meditating on what one has learned throughout the festival, thus far. For my family, this will be a quiet day with mostly wordless worship offered to Him. We’ll likely do a silent, traditionally focused ritual that will end in our seclusion in various parts of the house, so that we can concentrate without being distracted by one another. As I’ll still have much to do, I will probably end up in the kitchen, communing with Apollon while I prepare a nice grounding meal for everyone. I’ll have my daughter serve Apollon first, at the altar.

Day nine is for the procession, and we will carry offerings from the indoor altar to the outdoor altar by way of walking through and around the house and property. We will have prepared several new offerings to give to Apollon, via the ritual fire, where we will burn them to ash, so that he may receive them on Olympos. We will say closing prayers of thanks to Him, His Mother and Sister, and we will have one final meal together as the offerings burn.

~

And that’s it. We will have celebrated the Aegletia for another year.  I certainly hope everyone who decides to join us, whether we ever know it, has a wonderful, thought-provoking celebration which brings you all closer to Apollon, His Family, and to your own families, as well.  May we all shine with His inner light.  Blessed Aegletia to you all.

— Columbine

Tags: , ,

About Columbine

Bride of Apollon, accompanying her Beloved across the wave of existence.

4 responses to “Suggestions for Aegletia”

  1. Columbine says :

    Reblogged this on Queen of the Waiting Ones and commented:

    For anyone who may be celebrating along with us, here are some family friendly suggestions for the Aegletia.

  2. Sunweaver says :

    A few years ago, I bought a lyre-shaped menorah that had a grape motif on it. There are nine spaces for candles and having the central candle (where the shamash would be) be one representing purification is making a lot of sense to me. I’m having some proto-prayers tumbling around in my brain that I will share when I can wrestle them into words.

    • Columbine says :

      I really can not wait for you to share this. I had a similar idea floating around my brain, but I don’t actually have a menorah to try it with. Let us know as soon as you can articulate! So excited! 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Preparing the Home for Aegletia | Treasury of Apollon - September 16, 2016

Leave a Reply

