Fear Is a Warm Embrace

20221004_150206

What is fear but Your warm embrace, my Lord, which reminds me that I am precious; that my life is worthy of the cost of living? You stimulate my instincts and my sense of preservation.

What is fear but a catalyst to greater things; greater awareness of my limitations, and of the impact of my will unrestrained? You restrict my maneuvers when I’ve thought less about them than my desire.

What is fear but a dissonant chord struck to wake me from unproductive dreams; from stagnation and complacency, from perilous behaviour and inaction? You liven me to move when stillness threatens to expose or suffocate me.

What is fear but Your Will made evident within the wilderness of this, our modern age; a reminder of that which must be conquered, O Conquerer; of that which must be resisted with every breath of human life? You revivify my oaths to be true and loyal to none and nothing other than what serves the greatest good within my own ability to accomplish.

And for this, Apollon, my Beloved Lord, I thank You.

— Columbine, Aegletia, Day 4, 2022


Day 4

*Celebrating Leto and the ferocious spirit the Holy Twins have inherited from Their Mother.

**Acknowledging risk, danger, fear, and the unknown; existing within the liminal spaces of existence.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.